Monday, January 27, 2014

Week 35 (1/22-1/28)

This week has been rough. Not gonna lie. There have been some wonderful things that have happened that I'll talk about but pregnancy-wise and shenanigans-wise it's been tough.

The severe itching hasn't gone away and Benadryl + anti-itch cream doesn't really help. The itching is so bad it's causing insomnia. I e-mailed the nurse on Thursday and got no response (which severely annoyed me) and so today (Monday) I called on my way to work and am waiting to speak to someone. The cramping also has continued but it's not regular so nothing to worry about. There is also a new symptom of super pressure down in my lady region. To the point where I was walking and literally had to stop for a few moments, my legs wouldn't work. My back is always aching and I am generally exhausted. The belly is big as always although I did get my eating back in check and my "exercise" back on track. It's not the exercise I used to do, now I just do 30 min on the elliptical at lunchtime every day but it's some movement.

The most fun thing that happened this week is one evening after work I was at home fixing dinner and I sneezed. This sneeze was not an extraordinary sneeze, it was just a regular old sneeze. What was interesting about the sneeze is what it caused. Standing in the kitchen. Sneeze. Pee myself. Now it wasn't like a 30 second long entire pee. It was just enough for me to realize some had escaped. I didn't think I had to pee. I mean there was no urge. It was at this point I think think that I realized my body had officially betrayed me. It took a few moments to really come to terms with what had just happened. If this wasn't a sign that I need to get on a Kegel regimen I don't know what is.

It was a nice surprise to come home and have a package from amazon. It had all sorts of burt's bees things for the baby. I hadn't ordered anything and neither had Hov and of course there was no name on the package but it could only have been one person. The most excited grandma-to-be. She has recently become obsessed with online baby things.

This week was the week we wanted to get the nursery together. We needed to go buy and assemble the furniture. My mom and John had insisted on buying us the stroller/carseat so that we wouldn't have to come out of pocket as much with the rest of the things we needed so we had those but still needed all the nursery furniture, mattress, breast pump, video monitor as well as towels, sheets, clothes, bouncer, tub and all those little things you don't realize add up to a million dollars. We had a 10% off target coupon but it could only be used once so we went to the store and wanted to buy the stuff and have it shipped to the house. They said no, go online and you have to do it there. We went home and went online and they wanted to charge us like $150 in shipping and would only take 4 gift cards which didn't work since we had like 10 gift cards. So at this point we decide we'll just go with two cars on the weekend and pick up the boxes there since we didn't want to pay shipping on top of what we already had to come out of pocket for.

Weekend comes and on Saturday it's Madeline's boyfriend's birthday party and I am making the cake (which came out amazing obvi) and a flan. Both were yummy but took the entire day to make. I didn't realize how taxing being on my feet was until it was 4pm and I had been up and running around since 8 and I felt like I wanted to amputate my legs. I did have a bit to relax before the party and it was all fine but we didn't get any errands done so we knew we had to do them all on Sunday.

The only thing we did get done on Saturday was a garage sale. So let me say when I was younger I would tag along with my grandparents or my mom to garage sales but never paid attention because I never NEEDED anything, it was more like meh lets see if there is anything interesting. It's a totally different experience when you go to one because you know they have something you need. So it all started on Craigslist when I found a lady selling baby clothes at $1each or 12 for $10. We went with really no expectation, I thought we'd find a few things. Went with 20 bucks ready to go in our pocket. We had more in my purse but Hov was convinced we wouldn't need it. We walk in and the lady has bags and bags of clothes, most of them brand new or barely worn. Long story short, we spent $40 and got like 50 pieces of clothes, 15 pairs of socks and 15 beanies. So we left there and I thought we did pretty good. I mean if we had bought all that stuff brand new we would have spent hundreds. Not to mention a lot of the things weren't just onesies that comes in a 4 pack, I mean there were legit outfits, sleeper things, the flannel foot pajama things, robes etc. So I thought we made out like a bandit.
We came home, washed it all and started organizing. So that was Friday night. Once I realized Craigslist was a gold mine for barely used baby things is when I looked for garage sales and found one for Saturday. Hov was a good sport about it and came along. We showed up and the first thing I see is a bouncer. We needed a bouncer. I had found a bouncer on CList for $15 and was going to meet the bro later that day. I ask her how much the bouncer was, she says $2. I almost had a heart attack. I look around some more. Pristine boppy with two covers- $2. Baby clothes- 4/$1. I told her we better get a bag or a box. If I thought we made out well with the first lady, we robbed this one. Ended up paying $15 total for a little pile of heaven. The pics here are all the things we got at the garage sale for $15. Long story short, we are almost done with clothes. Most of what we have is gender neutral or more boy-ish (lots of blues, greens, browns etc) but if it's a girl we can add some accessories and some pink in there and are good to go.


So Saturday was spend washing baby clothes and baking. Sunday came and Brooke had agreed to take some maternity pics for us so we had that on the agenda as well as going to target to buy the furniture and going to Costco. We did the pictures at Brooke's house and just did the indoor ones and I think we may have gotten some good ones. She gave me a few to preview and I like!
Thank goodness for filters and photoshop because between Hov and I we are super not photogenic. She was an amazing photog. So after the photo session we mention we have to go to Target and she says she and Aaron have to go also so lets make it a field trip.

We all get to target and apparently there is a baby sale that started the day before that we didn't know about. Almost everything we needed was on sale. I'm thinking it's our lucky day. If we had bought all the stuff when we went a few days earlier we would have missed the sale. So the breast pump is $30 cheaper plus they give you a $50 gift card for buying, the monitor isn't cheaper but also comes with a $50 gift card. I'm in a good mood and no longer annoyed with target and their stupid shipping.
We find the mattress we need and so all we are missing is the furniture (dresser, crib and changing table top thing). We go to the display and on top of the dresser is a little pamphlet/brochure thing that has the barcodes. But I notice that in front of the crib where all the prices are= ON SALE!!! Woop WooP!!! The crib is on sale for $250 as is the dresser AND if you buy the crib then the mattress is FREE. So I am on cloud 9. I can't believe it. I grab the thing with the barcodes and we go to find a Target employee to tell them we want the furniture. She comes, scans the stuff and tells us they don't have it. So my pure joy at the thought that we may actually be able to afford all the stuff quickly turns to annoyance. I tell her I want to make sure we get the sale prices for everything and can they get it from online or another store and she just says go talk to customer service people.

Now I am very aware that it is none of the employees fault. Having said that. Target needs to get their shit together. We were with the customer service people for an hour. They took the little barcode thing and none of the stores in the region had it and there was no way to order it online and get the sale price. They told us they could give us a rain check for it but they had no idea when they'd get it in again. AND there is no way for them to just enter the item number and see what stores in the US had it. If they knew what store had it, they could do a store-store transfer. How do they not have that capability?!?!?! So when she looked it up she says its $350 online and I was shocked because normally it's 300 and on sale down to 250 so it was a significant difference. So she is calling the Ft. Myers store, Gainesville, Tampa etc etc no dice. NO store has it. They won't sell us the display. The best offer is just the rain check. Finally she says, oh I think if you log in to your target account
you can search to see what store has it. We got to the kiosk and I sign in and she goes to search for the item when Brooke comes running with her phone in hand.
Brooke found it online, at the sale price AND it said it was in stock at this store. At this point I'm confused. WTF. How did they not find it but Brooke found it. EUREKA mofos- the barcode thing that was on top of the dresser of the furniture we wanted was the UPGRADED model, not the model that was there on sale. They didn't have the little barcode pamphlet for the furniture that was there. When they scanned my actual registry they found the right model, at the sale price, in stock. Whatever kind of sick game target is playing- I want nothing to do with. I was two seconds away from lighting the place on fire.

So after like two hours at target, we are loading the furniture in the back of Brooke and Aaron's truck. With the sale prices and our coupon we managed to get the furniture, mattress, pump and video monitor using our gift cards. We didn't have to come out of pocket. With the gift cards that we "earned" purchasing these items we got some of the things we needed- diaper genie, sheets, towels etc. We are almost done with baby purchases. My mom is compiling a list of things we still need and when she and John come to visit, we'll get the rest of the stuff.


After the Target fiasco we took Brooke and Aaron out to dinner. Of course we did. How could we not. They're the best. Brooke was of course taking pics while we were at target. They do a pretty good job of showing the mood. I couldn't wait to get out of there and grab dinner. They had never been to Super Perros (Colombian restaurant) so we went and ordered a bunch of stuff and delighted their taste buds before continuing home where the boys unloaded the stuff into the nursery. We didn't make it to Costco.

This coming weekend my mom, John, my sister Ariel and her fiancée Stewart are all coming to visit. With the man power, I want to have the nursery done. The dresser and crib need to be assembled. The car seat bases need to be installed in our cars.

I have never been so exhausted after a weekend in my life.

1 comment:

  1. Aww we love you guys! So glad the nursery furniture worked out so well!!! Yay!

    ReplyDelete