Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Week 29 (12/11-12/17)

First week in month #8. Officially three months to go. Well about 3 months to go. We'll see how long it actually takes. Hopefully not as long. I'm already ready for this little monkey to come out!!!

My belly button has started to invert. It was just flat for a long time as the belly got bigger and the skin stretched which was really weird. The skin in the belly button feels so strange, it's crazy soft/squishy- probably because it has experienced no friction in it's life compared to my belly that is always touching clothes. Anyway, the top of the belly button is starting to poke out. I don't appreciate it. Also, my belly is getting itchy- books say it's normal and is just a result of my skin stretching more and more. I'm moisturizing to try and help but I can't stop eating. I'm literally eating between 2000-3000 calories every day. If I keep up this pace I'll gain more than 5 pounds per month and that will be bad. I guess I should stop eating Hagen Daaz rum raisin ice cream but I really don't want to.

I finally made it back to the gym after weeks of insomnia. A lot of the movements are getting more and more uncomfortable but at least I moved around a bit... So I guess those previous sentences were a little premature. I ended up at the gym ONCE this week and the rest of the week stayed sleeping instead of gymming it. I'm not proud, just tired. I don't have a good excuse as to why I'm not exercising regularly, my self-motivation is just not there anymore.

This past weekend was Hov's birthday! He took his GMAT that morning and we had a Minute-To-Win-It themed BBQ which was a lot of fun. We made a TON of food and then that day it was miserableeeeee, raining all day and cold! Anyway, only half the people we were expecting showed up but I think it was better that way for the games. It was hilarious. Normally we play Catch Phrase which is a good time in itself but this time we decided to switch it up and it was fun. We did boys vs girls and unfortunately the boys won by 2 points. Next time we'll get them! For those of you who don't know what Minute-to-win-it is, YouTube. So this series of pictures on the right is for  a game called "Bucket Head" where you have a bucket attached to your head and you have to throw pingpong balls at a wall 5 feet away and catch it in the bucket on your head. Sounds straight forward but the ball can't bounce out of the bucket and basically it's hilarious. I made this bucket using a plastic water gallon that I cut in half and then secured it to people's heads using ribbon they would tie under their chin. I wasn't participating in most of the games for obvious reasons but there was one game where Hov and I got to go head to head. This was a game where you started off with a cookie (we used crackers since I wasn't about to sacrifice my delicious cookie stash and have them potentially fall on the ground) on your forehead and you have to move it into your mouth using only your facial muscles. No hands and it must stay on your face the whole time. Much harder than it looks. This was especially difficult since we were using saltines and I was getting salt in my eye. Anyway, that's what the video is.

Final score has the boys winning. They picked their name as Divas only after Brooke suggested girls go by Queens of the Universe. I wish I could say I was surprised by their name choice but really, it would have been weirder if they had suggested a normal name.

I got Hov a set of dumbbells that you can adjust the weight. He has been slowly building up his garage gym so he can do a workout at home and I thought this would be a great addition. I didn't think through the part of moving them inside from my trunk... I almost gave birth in the hallway trying to bring them in, each dumbbell is 50 pounds and then the stand has to be at least the same. He wasn't too happy with me for that but I think he liked the gift which is good since he is so hard to buy for. That and the older we get, the less we want. I guess that is part of the good ol transition into severe adulthood. Well, want in terms of little things, we talk about how we want a new house in a specific neighborhood that has all these features that our house doesn't but that's more like wishful thinking than birthday/christmas list.

 So the belly is huge. I know I thought/said it was big before... Nope. Belly has overtaken my life. From last week at the baby shower to this week at Hov's party almost all my friends commented on how it was so much bigger and they are right. Even Hov noticed and he sees me every day. Can't see my legs, can't see my feet. It's a good thing it's not bathing suit season because that would be scary for anyone who encountered me since I can't see where I shave. I also can't bend over so it's starting to get to where I have to ask Hov to help me with things that I didn't think would be an issue, like soaping up my shins, helping with shoes if they aren't slip-ins, or anything related to me bending over to pick something up. I also am not as flexible so if I have a bra that's sort of annoying to take off, I can't keep my arms back there long enough to get it off. To make things more embarrassing, another fantastic pregnancy symptom that has come up is the inability to control gas. So I knew that pregnancy would increase gas which is not great but at least I knew it was coming. What I didn't know is that the baby puts so much pressure down there that no matter how tight you think you are contracting those sphincters, those little toots are coming out regardless of how hard you pray for them not to. Not an issue if I'm at home but yes an issue when I'm at work or just out anywhere. Not amused. Not to mention that I discovered this past week that I had not dodged the snoring bullet. I literally woke myself out of a REM cycle because I was snoring so loud. Not hard breathing, not a little bit of maybe noise, legit 500 pound man snores rumbling out of my open mouth. I don't even know what to say about that.

This Friday I have my next Dr appointment, it should just be a standard check-up. Friday morning I defend my prospectus (thesis proposal) which is going to suck. That has been a giant source of stress, to the point that it has crept into my dreams, which I don't appreciate. I am practicing for the next few days and then I give my presentation to my committee on Friday and we see what they have to say. Regardless of how it goes, I am going to get a mani/pedi after. It will either be celebratory or stressed-out mani/pedi depending how it goes but either way I think it will be needed. After that I'll go to my appointment. Fingers crossed everyone. I don't want to have to do it again and my committee lives for making my life miserable.

No comments:

Post a Comment