Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Week 27 (11/27-12/3)


Thanksgiving week this week! We are doing a friends-giving, going over to Brooke and Aaron's house for the big day. We are bringing a turkey, stuffing and a carrot cake. Fingers crossed that the turkey doesn't end up dry like 97% of all turkey's I've ever had. I think the ONE time I had a turkey that wasn't  dry was one time we went out of town for thanksgiving. We're brining it and trying out an Alton Brown recipe so hopefully it'll be good. Either way, there are going to be other choices for protein so it'll be OK.

I think it's a blessing in disguise that I'm pregnant at thanksgiving, I don't have to try and hide pants that have been unbuttoned, I can just wear maternity pants and get away with it. No sucking in for me this year. Actually I physically haven't been able to suck in for the past few months even if I wanted to. I'm happy about that now but I am really starting to worry about what this midsection situation is going to be looking like come March when it's no longer occupied by this little monkey. Hov and I read somewhere that a comparable situation is like taking a beanbag and stuffing it down your shirt and then removing 5% of the beans. Meaning I'll still be chunky once the baby comes out. I'm trying to be good but self-control left a long time ago.



Update- turkey was dry. I think it would have been good if we had eaten it right out of the oven but then it sat for 2 hours and then we had to put it back in the oven to warm it up. It was pretty bad. But the gravy that went with it was good. To say Brooke went overboard with the setup is an understatement. I took pics to show you guys. You would have thought she was catering 40 people. It was a gorgeous table-scape and it was all delicious but we didn't even make a dent in the food. If you are wondering, those are place cards for each dish and each person. It looked like a catered event.


Black Friday came and we didn't get up and go nuts, we did go look around in the afternoon and took advantage of 40% off Express to get Hov some new work pants. Speaking about work- he officially got a job and starts on Monday. I am so relieved I can't even explain. He had the interview last week and the background check this week and finally they called him to tell him he got it.

Now that I know that Hov will be gainfully employed, I feel better about getting the nursery started. I was planning on painting the room but now I don't think I am going to. Part laziness and part we like the color of the room. It's sort of a blue-green color which lends more to the traditional boy room but my favorite color for most of my life was blue so I say screw it. Also, Hov has given me the green light to re-do the closet in there. That'll let us have fewer pieces of furniture in there since it's a small room. I think it'll be the crib, rocker/chair thing and changing table and that's it.

It's been so cold and I think that's been contributing to my severe hibernation state lately. I've been sleeping a lot. Like a lot. I can't get enough sleep. I wake up and eat breakfast and am ready for a nap. The baby is sucking all the energy out of my body. Archie has been joining me. Brooke said something to me about if we had another kid I'd have to be pregnant and dealing with a kid at the same time. That got me thinking that one kid sounds about right. No way I could deal with a kid while pregnant.

I've become obsessed with awkward pictures. Archie is the latest victim. Any picture where he looks homeless or just raggedy makes me laugh so hard. I feel like in the one to the left he looks like master splinter from teenage mutant ninja turtles.
I had a doctor's appointment today with one of the midwives and she was fantastic. I am measuring at 27 weeks which is on schedule but I was also sitting up when she measured me and last time I was laying down so that could be why I'm up to date now and before was a week behind. She didn't seem worried at all. She says I'm her favorite kind of patient because I'm "boring". Meaning everything looks great and healthy and we don't have to worry about anything. My glucose tolerance test came back normal and I was weighed today and have gained a grand total of..... 14 pounds!!!!! I'm within normal range and she is very happy with our progress. Next appointment is at the 30 week mark and after that we'll have an appointment every two weeks. It's getting closer!!

The baby is constantly doing zumba in my belly. I feel like my stomach is like a bag of popcorn in the microwave. You see the bag jumping around as the kernels pop and that's what my stomach feels like.

So this last day of week 27 I was lazy and didn't get out of bed to go to the gym but Hov did. By the time I got up he was already back and I walk into the kitchen and see this big box of croissants and the first thing out of my mouth is "ohhh someone got croissantsssss" and Hov starts laughing and I can't figure out why until he points out that he bought me flowers and the only thing I noticed was the box of croissants. I called entrapment. The truth is, my brain did not even process anything except the croissants. Not sure if it's hilarious or sad. Maybe a little of both. My poor husband goes to buy me flowers and all I notice is the food. Sigh. On a positive note, I got croissants :)

No comments:

Post a Comment