Monday, August 26, 2013

Week 13 (again?!?!) (8/21-8/27)

This week has been a little better. I finally slept through the night which was great, I'm sure my attendance at the gym had something to do with it. Nothing like a hard leg day to knock me out. Hopefully it continues. I almost murdered Hov when he had a bad night sleep and I commented that he now has a taste of what it feels like and he responded with "yeah but you're used to it by now". He almost died that day.

I can't get enough tacos this week. Tacos. Soft, hard- doesn't matter. I want tacos. Hov has been an absolute saint when it comes to this department. Anything I want is met with a very quick "OK baby let's/let me go get it". First day I wanted On the Border Southwest Chicken Tacos. They sounded amazing to me. I know they're horrible for you with the onion rings, shredded cheese and ton of sauce but I didn't care, I wanted them. He went immediately to get them and came home and of course the people forgot the sauce they usually put on the side and they forgot the onion rings. WTF people. I was trying hard to not be upset since my man had just been gone for an hour retrieving these but I just wanted to throw them. Hormones are strange. The very next day I wanted tacos again but this time hard tacos... What's the nearest taco place? There isn't one. Anything is like a 15-20 minute drive away, more now since all the college kids came back to clog the streets and ruin my life. I ended up deciding on Moe's and got one overachiever hard taco with a side of queso. Heaven. Best decision ever. I have a feeling Moe's will be seeing a lot of me.

I also haven't been able to get the thought of homemade rice krispy treats out of my head. I think that will be a project for today.

The best part of this week so far was coming home on Friday to a ton of mail (not the good part) and seeing a little envelope package from my girlfriend Dani. She had sent me a cookie-gram!! Is that what they're called? Whatever- a cookie in the mail. I was so excited. I had just gotten home from the gym so please forgive my status in the following pictures, I was definitely struggling but the little cookie was so glorious I couldn't handle it. The best part was that the box said "It's a girl" which I thought was hilarious since Hov is sure it's a boy. I made sure to point out to him Dani's thoughts on the matter. It wasn't until I thanked her for the cookie and sent her a picture that she informed me that there was in fact ANOTHER COOKIE. Holy cow. If things couldn't get any better. I searched the rest of the ignored pile of mail and sure enough, another little envelope, this time with an "It's a boy" cookie. I let Hov have that one. It was after this cookie massacre that I went to Moe's. The food adventures never end. If only Moe's delivered...









In other good news, Hov made the "short list" for the job in South Florida and will be down there next Thursday for the in person interview. Apparently they don't talk salary until that day which I think is kind of silly since he has to travel 8 hours for the interview but what do I know. At least he told them his minimum salary requirements during the first phone interview- I don't think they would have invited him down if that had been a huge problem. We'll see how it turns out. He's really happy but trying to not be too excited and also trying to do his homework and research the company since he is but a humble English major tying to break into the business sector. He'll do great, he can charm the pants off a nun (if they were to be wearing pants). UPDATE: they changed it to a Skype interview but after the second phone interview he thinks they really like him. Fingers crossed.

The plan to eat healthier hasn't been going so well. The weekends are bad, we go out to eat so often. I went semi-OCD and prepared/marinated enough food for the entire week. Hopefully I will actually put it to good use. One of the things I wanted to make was pasta with zucchini but of course when I went to look for pasta there was only 1/3 of a box left and so what would be the most rational thing to do at 8pm on a Sunday? Go buy (or send Hov to buy) some pasta? Nah. At that point I decided to bust out the pasta machine (that I had never used before) and make my own pasta. The adventure was definitely fun but should have been a two person job. Two hours after inception I had a clothes dryer rack holding about a pound of fresh pasta. I was covered head to toe in flour, the kitchen was a mess, my hair was- well you'll see. I wasn't a pretty sight but those newly cut strands of pasta sure were.



I also had a craving this past weekend for rice krispy treats so I made them and then regretted it. They weren't that good, my cereal to marshmallow ratio was way off. Notice that the baking pan I'm using is a half-sheet cake sized one. I ended up throwing them away, but not until I had eaten like 1/3 of the treats. In totally unrelated news, my favorite jeans no longer button. Starting tomorrow, it ends. I feel so gross I can't even explain. There comes a point where garbage food isn't fun anymore. I'm at that point. 


The big thing starting this week is that I had an appointment Monday morning (8/26) with the specialist to do the early test for Down's Syndrome. The good news is that the measurements look good so we are just waiting for the blood work. The neutral news is that the doctor thinks the baby is too small to be 13.5 weeks along and we are more like 12.5 weeks along so this is going to be the 13 week post AGAIN. Can we say deja vu? That also means that the due date changes from February 27th to March 5th. They did say that the date is flexible and they would have a better idea at the 18-20wk ultrasound when they can get better measurements of everything.

I have to admit I definitely overreacted/freaked out when I first heard that the baby was small. Is the baby not getting enough nutrients? Are we having a little person? The doctor assured me that we just were off with the due date and then I was annoyed I had to re-do the 13th week. Of course it's always something. I am very very thankful that things came back normal (so far). I'm not sure how I would have been able to handle that decision had it not. The baby looked healthy though and we did manage to get another picture where he/she looks like he/she is just kicking back, relaxing. When he/she was on screen there was a lot of bouncing around but we still got a good pic.
It's a real baby!!
Monday also came with headaches and nausea, not sure if that was because of baby or because of no parking since all the undergrads are back. Maybe a little of both. Also could have been because the big pooch I'm getting is nowhere near where the tech was looking during the ultrasound. She was all the way near my lady bits and the pooch/belly I'm getting is much more on the north side. No excuses, I went to the gym and had a sensible dinner. No way I'm going to be one of those people who uses a pregnancy/kids as an excuse to let themselves go. Not healthy or aesthetically pleasing.


No comments:

Post a Comment