I went yesterday to do the glucose tolerance test to see if I am at risk for gestational diabetes. I hope it's all normal, there are a few people in my family who had it but they are all overweight so I think that may have had more of an effect than just genetics. If anyone ever has to go do this test, it's simple enough. You go in after having fasted, so I went first thing in the morning, and was dying of thirst. They draw like four tubes of blood, my veins are giant so it's usually never a problem. Then they give you this bottle of glucose drink. Imagine a powerade but with two or three times the syrup in it. I normally drink water, this was brutal. Not just that, I didn't realize that the bottle should have been shaken for like five minutes prior to consumption so a lot of the syrup had settled to the bottom and the more I drank, the thicker it got. It was awful. I almost threw it up. Then you wait an hour and of course can't drink water or eat anything or chew anything and they take more blood. If it comes back normal then we're good to go, if not I have to go back for a 3 hour test where they do something else, I haven't really looked into it yet.
I don't need another complication, this pregnancy has already brought my digestive system to a near halt. It's so uncomfortable. It's to the point where I'm not even hungry most of the time because things are going so slow. I sent Hov to the store to buy me some colace, I already have prunes by the bucketful and am drinking tons of water. For those of you who are grossed out- seriously reconsider ever getting pregnant. This is a very mild version of what's happening. We are signing up for a birth course that starts in January and have been watching some birth videos. Not looking forward to the "ring of fire" or what I have coming for me but it's too late to go back at this point. Ha! We went to blue cross blue shield to see how much this whole ordeal is going to cost and we'll see, it's a good thing we have a 10k out of pocket limit. Freaking 10k. That's a joke, not to mention the pregnancy spans two calendar years so we have to meet the deductible twice. I told Hov I'm just gonna have the baby in our bathtub.

On the job front, Hov had his interview on Friday and we're waiting to hear back very nervously. If it doesn't work out then we'll be scrambling for him to get some form of employment. I have loved having him home though. That's been really really nice. I leave him with a mini honey-do list every day and he's been cooking which I love.












